About Czech Republic

Czech Republic flag

Czechia is a landlocked country in Central Europe and a member state of the European Union. Its population is more than 10 million people. The country has borders with Poland to the northeast, Germany to the west, Austria to the south, and Slovakia to the east. The capital and largest city is Prague.

The country is composed of the historic regions of Bohemia and Moravia, as well as parts of Silesia. Bohemia, as a well-established kingdom in the medieval period, became the first center of the reformation movement in Europe. After its defeat, Bohemia became a second-order part of the mighty Habsburg Empire. The 19th century saw a revival of the Czech language, culture, and independent thinking culminating in the person of T.G. Masaryk, who organized armed resistance against tPraguehe central power. With the support of US President Wilson, he created the Czechoslovak Republic, the first and last democracy in Central Europe. The country lost its independence as a result of the Munich Treaty and was handed over to Hitler. After World War Two the country was allocated to the Soviet sphere of interest, but kept at least spiritual values of freedom, which lead in the Prague Spring movement in 1968. After the collapse of Soviet occupation in 1989, Czechoslovakia and later Czechia smoothly reinstalled the democratic rules and government. Todays Czechia is a pluralist multi-party parliamentary representative democracy with president as the head of state. The Parliament has two chambers - the Chamber of Deputies and the Senate. Czechia joined NATO in 1999 and the European Union in 2004. It is also a member of the OECD, the Council of Europe and the Visegrád Group.